Home > Research > Top researchers > Honorary doctorates

Honorary doctorates

The Reverend Martin Luther King, Prince Bernhard, the former Minister of Finance, Gerrit Zalm, writer Gerrit Krol, chemical assistant Gerrit de Vries and meteorologist Herman Bijvoet. However diverse this list of names may be, there is one thing they have in common: they have all made outstanding contributions in the field of science, politics or culture and have been awarded with honorary doctorates by VU University Amsterdam between 1930 and the present day.

In 2007 the book 'Het is ons een eer en een genoegen' (dutch) of Wim Berkelaar was published. The book provides an overview of the honory doctorates awarded between 1930 and 2007 and an extensive background report.

Below is a list of all recipients of honorary doctorates to date: 

 Name Year Faculty
 Helen Longino2014PHIL
Eredoctor Kathleen Thelen Kathleen Thelen2013FSS
Peter Kapitein Peter Kapitein 2012 VUmc
Rem KoolhaasRem Koolhaas 2012 ARTS
Eredoctor NoakesTimothy Noakes2011 FHMS
D. SelkoeDennis J. Selkoe2010VUmc
Eredoctor TonryMichael Tonry2010LAW
Eredoctor Berners LeeTimothy Berners Lee 2009FOS
Eredoctor ZalmGerrit Zalm2008FEBA
Eredoctor WolterstorffN.P. Wolterstorff2007PHIL
Geen foto beschikbaarD.B. Shanley2006ACTA
Eredoctor ChalmersI.G. Chalmers2006VUmc
Geen foto beschikbaarJ. Martin2005FSS
Eredoctor KrolG. Krol2005ARTS
Eredoctor HullJ.M. Hull2005FPE
Geen foto beschikbaarA. Bos2005LAW
Geen foto beschikbaarJ.H. Waller-Hunter2005FELS
Eredoctor OosterhuisH. Oosterhuis2002THE
Geen foto beschikbaarK. Knip2002FOS
Eredoctor EavesL.J. Eaves2000FPE
Eredoctor FoiasC. Foias2000FOS
Eredoctor FernandezI. Fernandez2000VUmc
Eredoctor WardK. Ward2000THE
Eredoctor TurveyM.T. Turvey1995FHMS
Eredoctor PlantingaA. Plantinga1995PHIL
Eredoctor VriesG. de Vries1995FOS
Eredoctor NdebeleN.S. Ndebele1995LAW
Eredoctor CardenalE. Cardenal1990ARTS
Geen foto beschikbaarC. Sprey1990FELS
Geen foto beschikbaarL. Wilardjo1990 FOS
Geen foto beschikbaarD. Hoogendoorn1990VUmc
Eredoctor KoryaginA.I. Koryagin1988LAW
Geen foto beschikbaarOe. H. Kapita1985THE
Eredoctor GirardR. Girard1985ARTS
Geen foto beschikbaarJ.P. Horder1985VUmc
Eredoctor KruytS. Kruyt1980VUmc
Eredoctor MaarF.E.R. de Maar1980VUmc
Geen foto beschikbaarY.T. Hien1980LAW
Eredoctor Miguez Bonino JoseJ. Miguez Bonino1980THE
Eredoctor AlgraH. Algra1980FSS
Eredoctor FrielinkA.B. Frielink1980FEBA
Eredoctor DubyG. Duby1980ARTS
Eredoctor BarnabyC.F. Barnaby1980FOS
Eredoctor Melsen vanA.G.M. van Melsen1980FOS
Eredoctor Helder Camera DomDom Helder Pessoa Camara1975FSW
Eredoctor BijvoetH.C. Bijvoet1975FOS
Eredoctor WeizsackerC.F. von Weiszäcker1975LAW
Eredoctor Beyers NaudeC.F. Beyers Naudé1972THE
Eredoctor NotohamidjojoO. Notohamidjojo1972LAW
Eredoctor RuppertM. Ruppert1970LAW
Eredoctor MuliaT.S.G. Mulia1966THE
Eredoctor kingM. Luther King jr. 1965FSS
Eredoctor HoffmannP. Hoffmann1965FEBA
Eredoctor Prins BernardZ.K.H. Bernhard Prins der Nederlanden Prins van Lippe Biesterveld1965FEBA
Eredoctor RijnsdorpC. Rijnsdorp1965LAW
Eredoctor JonckheerE. Jonckheer1965LAW
Eredoctor EllulJ. Ellul1965LAW
Eredoctor Rutgers AALA.A.L. Rutgers1959LAW
Eredoctor TilanusH.W. Tilanus1958LAW
Eredoctor Leonard EmileE.G. Léonard1955THE
Eredoctor RooyJoh. C. van Rooy1952PHIL
Geen foto beschikbaarA.J. van der Merwe1952PHIL
Eredoctor SchoutenJ. Schouten1950LAW
Eredoctor BohatecJ. Bohatec1950LAW
Eredoctor HuberMax H. Huber1950LAW
Eredoctor DijkJ.J.C. van Dijk1938LAW
Eredoctor RullmannJ.C. Rullmann1930THE
Eredoctor Bakker DD. Bakker1930THE
Geen foto beschikbaarJ. Sebestijen1930LAW
Eredoctor ColijnHendrikus Colijn1930LAW
© Copyright VU University Amsterdam