University Research Chair


VU University Research Chair (URC) is a selective and privileged appointment as full professor. The chair has been created to recognize and reward outstanding scholars currently at the rank equivalent to associate professor who are acknowledged by their peers as upcoming leaders in their research field.

Appointment procedure

A candidate eligible for a URC can be nominated by the deans only. A committee of the vice-rector and a number of full professors chaired by the rector will select the best candidates and advise the Executive Board on the appointment of up to four most promising URC’s each year. A competitive candidate is one who meets and surpasses the standard quality requirements of a full professor, rises above his or her colleagues in the same rank and shows the highest development potential compared to other nominees.